In Thee, Oh Lord

by sugarcoatedprincess

Another hymn/poem effort this time with a recurring refrain lifted directly from Psalm 71.

Lord, I call upon thee,
Though lowly worm am I,
Thy Word has given hope ,
Yet I sometimes wonder why,
Thou gav’st thy Son to save me,
From my darkest sins,
But I know that thou art gracious,
I know thou shalt let me in.

In thee, Oh Lord, do I put my trust,
Let me never be put to confusion.

Take my words, raise them high,
Build them to thy standard,
Keep me humble, hold me still,
Though far have I past wandered,
Walking roads of worldliness,
Deep in sin and pain,
I know that thou art near Lord,
My prayers are ne’er in vain.

In thee, Oh Lord, do I put my trust,
Let me never be put to confusion.

King I kneel before thee,
Though as an ant I am,
Found in deepest darkness,
Pulled free by the caring Lamb,
Light he carried near my feet,
As I walked the road,
A path of near destruction,
That ever seems to goad.

In thee, Oh Lord, do I put my trust,
Let me never be put to confusion.

Lord, though selfish I have been,
Thy grace has brought me free,
Thou art my hope and rock,
I trust and lean full on thee,
A fortress and strong safe place,
Barricade so tall,
Nothing out there can hurt me,
No, nothing great or small.

In thee, Oh Lord, do I put my trust,
Let me never be put to confusion.

